Board of Directors

The Willamalane Board of Directors is comprised of five volunteer members elected by Springfield registered voters.  Each board member serves a four-year, “at large” (serves an entire area rather than a specific area)  term of office.

Public board meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month (no meeting in August) at the Bob Keefer Center for Sports and Recreation beginning at 6:30pm.  Click here to view the FY2019 Board Calendar.

To contact the Board, please send an email to   Please note:  Emails sent to elected officials are considered public record.

Meet the Board of Directors

President Denise Bean joined the board in 2011. She grew up in Springfield and attended Churchill High School in Eugene. She attended Oregon State University and the University of Oregon. Denise has served on the Springfield City Club and Springfield Chamber of Commerce boards. She enjoys traveling, reading and playing the piano. Denise and her husband, Michael, have two teenage children.

board-directors-greg-jamesVice President Greg James was appointed to the board in 2003. Greg attended Springfield High School, Lane Community College, Portland Community College and Linfield College. Greg has volunteered on the Lane Council of Governments executive board and the Springfield Planning Commission. He enjoys playing his five-string banjo and guitar. He and his wife, Branda, have two adult children and two grandchildren.

board-directors-anne-ballewDirector Anne Ballew was appointed to the board in 2010. She was raised in Springfield and attended Springfield High School. She is a graduate of the University of Oregon. Anne has served on the Springfield City Council and the League of Oregon Cities. She volunteers for the Springfield Public Library Foundation. Her hobbies include gardening, reading and cooking.

board-directors-lee-beyerDirector Lee Beyer was elected to the board in 2015. He moved to Springfield from Nebraska when he was 16. After graduating from Springfield High School, he attended the University of Oregon. Lee was a Springfield City Councilor and an Oregon state senator. He enjoys walking, biking, reading and watching movies. Lee and his wife, Terry, have three adult children.

board-directors-chris-wigDirector Chris Wig
 was appointed to the board in 2019. He received his undergraduate degree in cultural anthropology from the University of Toronto and his master’s degree from the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication. Chris serves our community as a member of the Intergovernmental Housing Policy Board and a founding member of Grupo Latino de Acción Directa.

Agenda and Minutes

Meeting Agenda: 
The monthly meeting agenda is posted a few days prior to each meeting.

FY2019 Minutes:

More information:


sign up image
sign up for our e-newsletters